The squads have been announced for Wednesday evening’s fixture between Cambridge University and The Crawshay’s, 7.30pm kick off at Grange Road.

The Crawshay’s select a mix of club players from Wales and England and have added in a some up and coming talent from the Welsh Regions.


15 Charlie REED Bedford Blues
14 Jamie DAVIES Blackheath
13 Matthew JACOBS (Capt) Llandeilo
12 Garyn PAYNE Aberavon
11 James McCARTHY Dragons
10 Evan LLOYD Dragons
9 Scott MAYNARD Llandovery
1 Jon LAVENDER Bargoed
2 Rhodri TANNER Moseley
3 Scott EVANS Pontypool
4 Adam POWELL Bargoed
5 Ioan JONES Neath
6 Rhodri JONES Treorchy
7 Robert NASH Pontypool
8 Ieuan JONES Pontypool

16 Will GRIFFITHS Dragons
17 Owen PEDDLE Cross Keys
18 Ben WARREN Cardiff Blues
19 Derrie MATTRAVERS Bedwas
20 Josh REID Newport
21 Dafydd BUCKLAND Dragons
22 Carwyn PENNY Dragons
23 Corey HOWELLS Dragons

Coaches & Management
Rugby Manager – Jonathan Westwood
Backs Coach – Mike Rayer – Bedford Blues
Forwards Coach – Mouritz Botha – Ampthill & Germany
Physio Dyfri Owen – Cardiff Blues
Baggage Master. Jeremy Vizard

Cambridge University name a relatively settled side, with Oliver Smart (Downing, Engineering) retaining his place in the backrow, and Mike Phillips (Emmanuel, Medicine) returning to partner Al Gliksten (Robinson, MPhil English Literature) in the halfbacks.

The big name amongst the Cambridge ranks is ex Australian captain James Horwill has come out of retirement and is set to play for Cambridge University in December’s Varsity game against Oxford.
The ex-Harlequins lock, 34, retired this summer and is doing a masters at the Cambridge business school.


1) Charlie MacCallum (Downing, MPhil Management) *

2) Miles Huppatz (Downing, MPhil Education) *

3) Ed Harborne (Clare, Veterinary Medicine)

4) Rowan Beckett (Peterhouse, Medicine) *

5) James Horwill (Queens’, Executive MBA) ±

6) Oliver Smart (Downing, Engineering) *

7) Al Broughton (Girton, MPhil Chemistry)

8) Stephen Leonard [C] (Emmanuel, PhD Medicine) *

9) Al Gliksten (Robinson, MPhil English Literature)

10) Mike Phillips (Emmanuel, Medicine) *

11) Fergus Jemphrey (Homerton, PGCE)

12) Rory Triniman (Hughes Hall, PhD Pharmacology) *

13) Sean Mackle (Hughes Hall, MFin Finance)

14) Tom Lovelace (Hughes Hall, MBA)

15) Joey Gatus (Corpus Christi, Economics) *

16) Sam Schusman (Magdalene, Medicine) *

17) Daniel Collins (Fitzwilliam, PhD Biological Sciences)

18) George Cook (Robinson, MML)

19) Archie Smeaton (Queens’, Natural Sciences)

20) Sean McMahon (Gonville & Caius, MPhil History and Philosophy of Science) *

21) Tom Walton (St John’s, Engineering)

22) Charlie Saunders (Selwyn, MPhil Management) *

23) George Laing (Trinity Hall, Natural Sciences)
± Denotes International
* Denotes Blue

The fixture against Cambridge University was started in 1983 by our then Secretary, Russell Jenkins and Tony Rodgers. Russell, now the Club President, was an undergraduate at Queens College. Dr Chris Williams, our former Chairman, gained three Blues in 1971, 72 and 73 whilst at Clare College. Crawshay’s lost the first match but he made sure they won the next two!

We have had 25 fixtures over the years, with Cambridge gaining 12 wins and 11 wins for Crawshays with 2 draws. Cambridge always put out a strong side as they ramp up their preparations for the famous annual Varsity Match against Oxford University at Twickenham. You can look up previous years team line ups and scores on the fixture section of the new club website.

Their will be a hearty group of Crawshay Vice Presidents travelling down with the squad to support the team, led by the aforementioned Russell Jenkins and Dr Chris Williams. Dr Chris Williams commented on the selection ‘having lost both fixtures narrowly against Cambridge and Oxford last season we are looking forward to seeing how this squad fares and hopefully starting the season off with a win and squaring the head to head record up 12 a piece. It’s also good to see the selection of some exciting young talent from the Regions.’

Return to news
Keep up to date with our latest news
All news
Proudly sponsored by